WSSCC is proud of its democratic governance structure, whereby members elect a Steering Committee that makes strategic and policy decisions.

A member-elected Steering Committee means that WSSCC's membership as a whole both directs and provides credibility for WSSCC's work.

The Steering Committee decides the policies and strategies of WSSCC, manages the governance process, and is accountable to both the members and the donors for its work.

The Steering Committee includes a Chair, Regional Members, Partner Agency Members, Ex officio Members, Non-voting Invitees, and Permanent Non-voting Observers.

These are the current members:

Anna Tibaijuka

Regional Members

 Eastern/Southern Africa:               

 Victor Chipofya                                    

 South Asia:        

 Umesh Pandey

 South-Eastern/East Asia:

 Lwin Khin Maung

 Latin America (vacant)


 Small Island Developing States:

 Kamal Khatri

 Central and Eastern Europe/West and Central Asia:

 Akbar Suvanbekov

 Global/any region: 

 Barry Jackson


 Dennis Mwanza


Partner Agency Members
Andrew Cotton, Water Engineering and Development Centre (WEDC); Amsalu Negussie, Plan International

Ex officio Members
UNOPS; WHO; and Chris Williams, WSSCC Executive Director 

Non-voting Invitee
Jaehyang So, Water and Sanitation Program (WSP) Manager

Permanent Non-voting Observers
Donors that currently contribute more than US $100,000 per year to WSSCC.

Full details on the committee's composition are in the WSSCC Governance Document.

Elections of the WSSCC Steering Committee
All WSSCC members are eligible to stand and vote in elections for the Steering Committee.

Last updated: Wed, 05/15/2013 - 16:55